top of page

Medical School Money Deadlines for 2026-27: Every Date You Need and How Not to Miss One

6 days ago
10 min read

Updated: 5 days ago

I've talked to hundreds of successful applicants, and the conversation that has changed most this year is the one about money. Since July 1, 2026, Grad PLUS loans are no longer available to new borrowers, and new professional degree borrowers face a firm annual limit on federal loans. If you plan to start medical school in 2027, you will borrow under these rules from your first semester.


Money in the med school process also runs on a calendar, and most of that calendar sits outside the application itself. Fee assistance has to be approved before you pay for the MCAT. The FAFSA is already open. Scholarships that pay for school in exchange for service have their own windows, and each school you apply to has aid forms and dates that rarely match its AMCAS deadline. This post puts the rules, the dates, and a system for tracking them in one place.


What Changed on July 1, 2026


Start with the rules, because everything else depends on them. The checklist summarizes the federal loan limits as published by Federal Student Aid. Both MD and DO programs appear on its list of programs treated as professional degrees. That designation is interim while a court case continues, so keep an eye on the announcement linked below.


Grad PLUS

What it says: Eliminated for new borrowers as of July 1, 2026. Borrowers who qualify under the legacy exception keep access, as described below.


Annual limit

What it says: $50,000 per year in Direct Unsubsidized Loans for professional students who are new or not exempt.


Professional aggregate limit

What it says: $200,000. Your $200,000 ceiling is reduced by any Subsidized and Unsubsidized Loans you borrowed earlier for graduate or professional degrees, so any earlier borrowing leaves you less than the full $200,000. Earlier Grad PLUS loans do not count toward it. A separate $100,000 aggregate limit applies to graduate (non-professional) study, and only Subsidized and Unsubsidized Loans borrowed as a graduate student count toward that one.


Lifetime limit

What it says: $257,500 across your borrowing, counted without regard to amounts repaid, forgiven, canceled, or discharged. Parent PLUS loans made on behalf of a dependent student are excluded, as are HEAL and certain Public Health Service Act health professions loans.


Legacy exception

What it says: You must have been enrolled in your program as of June 30, 2026 and received a Direct Loan for that same program before July 1, 2026. Eligibility lasts for the lesser of three academic years or the time left in the program, with continuity requirements. A student who begins medical school in 2027 will not have been enrolled in that program on June 30, 2026.


Professional degree definition

What it says: On June 24, 2026, a court stayed parts of the federal definition of a professional degree, and the Department of Education updated its announcement on July 10, 2026. The stay did not touch the Grad PLUS elimination or the new loan limits. MD (CIP 51.1201) and DO (CIP 51.1202) are listed as programs treated as professional for the duration of the stay.


Sources: Federal Student Aid loan limits FAQ and its July 10, 2026 court-order announcement (links in Sources).


The Money Deadlines Checklist


Here is the calendar I would put on the wall. The first section covers national dates and programs. The second covers four top MD programs, with each school's admissions dates next to its financial aid requirements for the 2027-28 award year, which is the year a student entering in 2027 will be funded. Hopkins and NYU label their admissions dates 2026-27. The Harvard and Mount Sinai pages give a month and day without a cycle year, and the checklist says so. These four schools are a small sample, and the list is far from complete.


AMCAS 2026-27 cycle (the AAMC calls it the 2027 application cycle)

Date or window: May 5: application opens

May 28: submission begins

Aug 3: Early Decision deadline

Sept to Dec: regular deadlines, set by each school

What to know: Submit by 11:59 p.m. ET on the deadline date. For the regular deadlines, transcripts must be received within 14 calendar days of the application deadline. Early Decision has no such extension: all materials must be received by Aug 3.

Source: AAMC timeline


AAMC Fee Assistance Program

Date or window: Applications accepted Jan 1 to Dec 30

Approved benefits end Dec 31 of the following year

What to know: Each household reported on your application must have total family income at 400% of the national poverty level for that family size or lower, and you need a U.S.-based address. Apply before registering for the MCAT so the reduced fee applies.

Source: AAMC FAP


FAFSA 2027-28

Date or window: Opened in September 2026

What to know: This is the form for a student entering medical school in 2027. Schools set their own priority dates, often well before any federal cutoff, so use the school dates in the checklist below and on each aid page.

Source: Dept. of Education


NHSC Scholarship

Date or window: 2026 cycle: opened March 17, closed April 16 at 7:30 p.m. ET

Awards announced on or before Sept 30, 2026

What to know: The 2026 window is closed. The next cycle has not been announced. Watch nhsc.hrsa.gov, and note that this year's window opened in mid-March.

Source: NHSC guidance


Navy HPSP

Date or window: Rolling. No single deadline.

What to know: Best time to apply for a four-year scholarship is the fall before the year you plan to attend. Applications are accepted year-round and awarded on a rolling basis. Processing takes about 12 to 16 weeks.

Source: Navy HPSP


Army HPSP

Date or window: Rolling until slots fill. Deadlines vary by year and specialty.

What to know: The page gives no fixed dates, so confirm the current cutoff with an Army Medicine recruiter and apply early.

Source: Army HPSP


Navy and Army timing is from each service's own page, checked October 9, 2026.


Harvard Medical School

Admissions dates: Page lists Oct 15 (AMCAS) and Oct 22 (secondary and all materials)

Cycle year not stated

Aid dates (2027-28 award year): Current-cycle priority date not published on the linked page; ask this school's aid office.

Forms named on the page: HMS Financial Aid Application, FAFSA, and CSS Profile (completed by the custodial parent). A noncustodial Profile applies if parents are divorced, separated, or living apart. Signed parent tax returns are also listed.

Sources: Timeline

Aid page


Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Admissions dates: AMCAS: Oct 15, 2026

MD secondary: Oct 22, 2026

(page labels it the 2026-2027 cycle)

Aid dates (2027-28 award year): CSS Profile: Dec 15, 2026 (opens as early as Oct 1, 2026)

FAFSA: by March 1 annually

Forms named on the page: FAFSA, CSS Profile, and parent tax returns and W-2s through IDOC. A parent non-tax filing form applies if relevant. Students who file only the FAFSA are considered for federal and institutional loans, not scholarships. Admitted applicants who have not finished the aid application will not receive an aid determination with their admissions decision.

Sources: Timeline

Aid page


Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Admissions dates: Page lists Oct 1 (AMCAS) and Nov 1 (secondary)

Cycle year not stated

Aid dates (2027-28 award year): Current-cycle priority date not published on the linked page; ask this school's aid office.

Forms named on the page: FAFSA, CSS Profile, and the ISMMS Financial Aid Application.

Sources: Timeline

Aid page


NYU Grossman School of Medicine

Admissions dates: Primary: Oct 15

Secondary: Nov 10, 2026

(page labels it the 2026-27 schedule)

Aid dates (2027-28 award year): Current-cycle priority date not published on the linked page; ask this school's aid office.

Forms named on the page: FAFSA and CSS Profile. Which forms you need depends on whether you want loans, the full-tuition scholarship, or the need-based Debt-Free Scholarship.

Sources: Timeline

Aid page


Admissions dates come from each school's timeline page, with cycle labels shown where the page gives one. Aid dates are shown only where the linked page states a date for the current award year.


The pattern worth noticing is that a school's aid page controls the money dates, and it is often updated on a different schedule from the admissions page. Hopkins is a good example: its CSS Profile window opens October 1 and closes December 15, right in the middle of application season, and the school says admitted applicants who have not completed the aid application will not receive an aid determination with their admissions decision. At other schools the aid deadline may come later. Either way, ask each aid office for its current date, because it will rarely match the admissions calendar.


Run the Gap Math Before You Finalize Your List


Take the simplest case. Suppose you have no earlier graduate or professional borrowing, you have enough remaining lifetime eligibility under the $257,500 cap, you study full time, and your cost of attendance minus other aid and any school limit never falls below $50,000 a year. Four years at $50,000 a year then uses exactly $200,000, which is the whole professional ceiling. Your own situation may differ. Earlier graduate or professional loans reduce the $200,000, and the lifetime cap can bind first, so the first call to make is to your aid office with your full borrowing history in hand. Extra years, such as a research year or a dual degree, are also a question for the aid office.


To make the gap concrete, take a made-up school with a $70,000 yearly cost of attendance. After $50,000 in federal loans, the yearly gap is $20,000, or $80,000 over four years. That figure belongs to no real school. Run the same arithmetic for every school on your list using its own published numbers. I would build a spreadsheet with three columns per school: the published cost of attendance, any institutional scholarships or tuition guarantees, and whether the aid office has published how it is responding to the new limits. A blank in the third column is useful information in itself.


Save Money Before You Apply: The AAMC Fee Assistance Program


The cheapest dollars are the ones you never spend. The Fee Assistance Program is the main tool for that, and its benefits are broader than many applicants realize.


Eligibility

Detail: Each household reported on your application must have total family income at 400% of the national poverty level for that family size or lower, and you need a U.S.-based address.


MCAT

Detail: Reduced registration and rescheduling fees.


AMCAS

Detail: An application fee waiver. The AAMC asks you to check aamc.org/fap for the current benefit.


Other resources

Detail: Complimentary access to the MSAR website and a waiver of the AAMC PREview exam registration fee.


Timing

Detail: Applications run January 1 through December 30. Approved benefits end on December 31 of the following year.


Source: AAMC Fee Assistance Program document. Benefits can change, so confirm them at aamc.org/fap.


Scholarships That Pay for School in Exchange for Service


Service scholarships can cover much of the gap, and they come with a real commitment in return. Treat the checklist as a starting point for a conversation with a recruiter or program office, and read each program's obligation terms before you apply. This post does not cover the Air Force.


Pays for

NHSC Scholarship: Tuition and eligible fees, a monthly stipend for living expenses, and an annual payment for other reasonable educational costs. Up to four years of support.

Navy HPSP: Educationally based tuition and fees for up to four years, books and equipment reimbursement, a $2,999 monthly stipend, and a $20,000 signing bonus for medical and dental students.

Army HPSP: Full tuition for up to four years depending on specialty, a $2,999 monthly stipend, and up to a $20,000 sign-on bonus for medical and dental roles.


Service in return

NHSC Scholarship: A two-year minimum service commitment for a minimum of one year of support.

Navy HPSP: One year of active duty for each year in the program, with a three-year minimum for appointees who would owe less.

Army HPSP: Not stated on the page. Ask a recruiter.


Who qualifies

NHSC Scholarship: U.S. citizens or nationals pursuing eligible primary care training, which includes MD and DO degrees.

Navy HPSP: U.S. citizen, with dual citizenship not permitted, who has not reached age 42 at entry on to active duty.

Army HPSP: U.S. citizen by commissioning, enrolled full time in or applied to an accredited professional school.


Timing

NHSC Scholarship: One annual window. In 2026 it ran March 17 to April 16. The next cycle is not announced.

Navy HPSP: Rolling. Best to apply the fall before you attend, and allow 12 to 16 weeks.

Army HPSP: Rolling until slots fill.


Sources: NHSC application guidance, Navy HPSP page, and Army HPSP page, checked October 9, 2026.


How Not to Miss Any of Them


Dates like these fail people in boring ways. Someone sets a reminder for the deadline itself, or checks a school's page in August and never looks again, or keeps half the dates in an email thread. A simple system covers most of the risk.


Calendar reminders: Put every date above in your calendar twice, once a week before and once three days before. For rolling programs like Navy and Army HPSP, set a reminder for the fall before you plan to attend, and another about four months before you want an answer, since Navy processing runs 12 to 16 weeks.


One tracker spreadsheet: Make one row per item and one column each for the date, the form, the portal login, the status, the source link, and the day you last checked it. Keep your gap-math columns on a second tab so each school's cost and deadlines live in the same file.


A monthly recheck: Open each linked page on the first of the month and update the last-checked column. School aid pages change on their own schedules and sometimes lag behind the admissions calendar. If a page does not show a date for your entering year, email the aid office and save the reply in your tracker.


Start with the earliest dates: Fee assistance, the FAFSA, and any CSS Profile window open before most secondaries are due. Starting the financial forms early gives you time to handle fees, waivers, and missing documents.


Questions to Ask Every Financial Aid Office


What is the published cost of attendance for the class entering in 2027, and how is it broken down?


Has the school published how it is responding to the federal loan limits, and does it offer institutional loans or scholarships to cover the gap?


What is the aid deadline for my entering class, which forms are required (FAFSA, CSS Profile, institutional form), and does the school set a priority date?


Are there tuition guarantees, merit or need-based scholarships, or debt-free programs, and do they need a separate application?


How do earlier graduate loans, extra years, and dual degrees interact with the $200,000 and $257,500 limits?


What happens to my aid if my family's finances change after I apply?


What This Post Does Not Cover


This post leaves out loan forgiveness programs, state programs, private loans, institutional aid at individual schools, and the Air Force. Each deserves its own look. Everything here is general information and carries no financial advice. Rules and dates can change, so rely on the official pages linked below for any decision that costs money.


If you want help mapping these dates onto your own school list, or working out which scholarships make sense for your situation, click below and we can go through it together.


Sources


All pages below were checked October 9, 2026.





Federal Student Aid: https://studentaid.gov




AAMC: fee assistance (current benefits): https://www.aamc.org/fap







Harvard Medical School: applying for financial aid: https://hms.harvard.edu/education-admissions/md-program/cost-aid/apply-aid





Mount Sinai: financial aid application: https://icahn.mssm.edu/education/financial-aid/application





You can also reach us directly at success@admitmd.com, or call or text 512-693-9228.



Comments


bottom of page