top of page

Early Assurance Programs for College Premeds: Who Can Apply, When, and What You Must Maintain (2026-27)

16 hours ago
10 min read

Most of what gets written about guaranteed medical school seats is aimed at high school seniors. College students get far less guidance, even though a smaller group of schools offers them a version of their own: a conditional seat in an MD class, earned early in college, in exchange for a stretch of strong grades and a commitment to one school. These are early assurance programs, and mid-October is a sensible moment to learn about them, because several windows for sophomores open this fall or close soon after the new year.


This post is a reference that covers seven programs whose official pages I could read as of October 15, 2026. It spells out who may apply, when applications are due, and what a student has to keep up to hold the seat. Where a page leaves a term unstated, the table says so without guessing. The list is a sample and incomplete.


What an Early Assurance Program Is, and How It Differs From a BS/MD


The AAMC describes an early assurance program as a restricted program where pre-screened applicants are accepted while they are still undergraduates. It says these programs are not intended for unsolicited applicants, that the undergraduate institution usually invites students to apply, and that the guarantee is likely conditional on a minimum GPA or MCAT score. The AAMC also says these programs are generally binding, because the school already knows the student and reserves a place for them. The AAMC's list of participating schools is dated to an earlier AMCAS cycle and tells students to check each school's own site for current partners.


The contrast with a BS/MD matters for planning. A BS/MD student applies as a high school senior and enters a combined track on the first day of college. An early assurance student enrolls the ordinary way, builds a record for a year or two, and then applies, usually as a sophomore. The seat generally starts after graduation, so the path to the MD does not get shorter. FlexMed says so directly on its page. What changes is the uncertainty. A student who meets the conditions holds a conditional seat well before the regular cycle, where applicants typically submit AMCAS the summer after junior year, yet most programs still attach a final step, such as Tufts' special AMCAS application in senior year, and Penn's PASS only makes completers eligible to seek linkage admission. The AAMC adds that early assurance applicants pay no AMCAS fee for these programs, though the college often has to pre-approve the application first.


Seven Programs at a Glance


The table below is organized by school and sorted roughly from the most open program to the most restricted. Each entry draws on the school's own official page, and the table marks what a page leaves unstated. Dates are for the cycle the page describes, and anything not confirmed for 2026-27 is labeled as such.


Program

Who can apply

When you apply

GPA and MCAT terms

Binding terms and what is conditional

Sources

FlexMed (Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai)

Open application. Full-time students entering their second year at an accredited four-year U.S. or Canadian college, pursuing a first bachelor's degree. U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

Opens Oct 1, 2026.


Deadline Thursday, Jan 14, 2027, 11:59 p.m. EST.


Interviews March and April, decisions in July.

3.6 cumulative GPA to apply. SAT 1400 or ACT 32 strongly preferred. B or higher in a year of college biology or chemistry. Once admitted: 3.75 annual cumulative and 3.75 science GPA. Accepted students may not take the MCAT.

Accepted students must withdraw from FlexMed to apply to other schools through AMCAS. The seat is conditional: progress is reviewed each term, with remedial work or possible rescinding. The program does not speed up the path to medical school.

Program page


FAQ

Tufts University School of Medicine, Early Assurance

Tufts sophomores. Maine Track: sophomores at Bates, Bowdoin, Colby and the University of Maine campuses, who are eligible only for the Maine Track.

Sophomore year; prehealth advisors send instructions.


Interviews typically in April.


Deadline and cycle year not stated on the page.

3.7 total and science GPA. B+ or higher in biology, chemistry and physics with labs, B or higher elsewhere. MCAT not required to apply. For conditional acceptances during or after the 2027-2028 academic year, 510 overall and at or above the 50th percentile in BBFL, CPBS and PSBB, on one sitting, with two attempts allowed. The page also carries older text saying no MCAT is required, so confirm your cohort's terms.

No binding commitment during junior year. The binding commitment comes in fall of senior year with the AMCAS special program application, which prevents applying elsewhere for that entering year. Applicants below the standards are not assured admission.

Program page

Penn Access Summer Scholars (Perelman School of Medicine)

Students nominated by a partner institution's pre-health office. Ten partners, including Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Howard, Morehouse, Princeton, Spelman, Xavier University of Louisiana and Penn, plus the STEMM PREP Project. U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

Two summers of research at Penn after sophomore and junior years.


Prior-cycle example: applications due Feb 1, 2026; program June 1 to July 24, 2026.


2027 dates not confirmed; ask your advising office.

SAT 1300 or ACT 29. Science and cumulative GPAs of 3.7 or higher and three semesters of rigorous science. Linkage admission without the MCAT for those who meet GPA and performance metrics. Metrics: Not publicly specified.

Completing the program makes a student eligible to seek linkage admission. It stops short of a guaranteed offer. Binding terms: Not publicly specified.

PASS page


Special programs

Georgetown University School of Medicine, Early Assurance

Current Georgetown undergraduates in their fourth semester, applying through their own school or college. Transfer students are not eligible.

Fourth semester; contact your dean's office in early January of sophomore year.


Deadline and cycle year not stated.

Keep a minimum 3.6 in both BCPM and overall coursework, with above a C in every course. MCAT not required for this program, but required if the student applies to another medical school.

Assurance of admission comes at the end of sophomore year and depends on satisfactory junior and senior years, with School of Medicine approval before any change to the proposed curriculum. Binding terms: Not publicly specified.

Program page

Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Early Assurance

Wake Forest undergraduates. Applicants go through the Wake Forest Pre-Health Committee and need School of Medicine pre-approval before AMCAS.

After sophomore year.


Deadline and cycle year for this program: Not publicly specified.

GPA and MCAT terms for the program: Not publicly specified.

Students enter the School of Medicine after senior year. Binding terms and conditions to keep the seat: Not publicly specified.

Program page

University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Early Assurance

Sophomores at a four-year institution in Kentucky who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Applicants choose the Bowling Green, Northern Kentucky or Morehead rural campus and need an interest in practicing in Kentucky.

Opens in early November and closes in February.


The page names no cycle year; one section references a Feb 3 deadline.

3.6 unweighted cumulative and 3.6 BCPM GPA, plus five BCPM lecture courses and two writing or speaking-intensive courses. MCAT: not mentioned on the page.

Students sign an acceptance agreement and commit to all program activities. Assured admission follows completing the program and graduating. Whether applicants may apply elsewhere: Not publicly specified.

Program page


Dates

Tulane University School of Medicine, Early Assurance

Tulane undergraduates through the Creative Scholars Program, which is open to sophomores. Xavier University of Louisiana premedical students of any major, endorsed by Xavier's premedical office.

Creative Scholars: sophomore year.


Deadlines and cycle year: Not publicly specified.

Xavier students are required to take the MCAT. GPA numbers: Not publicly specified.

Creative Scholars admits must apply through AMCAS as Early Assurance. Xavier's version is conditional on completing the Xavier degree. Other binding terms: Not publicly specified.

Program page


As of October 15, 2026. Scope: seven programs with readable official pages, incomplete by design. Where a term does not appear on the page, the cell says it is not publicly specified. Penn's February 1, 2026 date is a prior-cycle example. Tufts' page also contains older no-MCAT text, so confirm your cohort's terms.


Who Can Apply: Open, Partner, and Own-Campus Programs


Only one program in this sample accepts applications from sophomores at essentially any accredited four-year college in the United States or Canada. That is FlexMed, and even there applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Every other program is gated by institution. Penn's PASS draws from ten partner institutions and students are nominated through their advising office. Tufts accepts its own sophomores, with a separate Maine Track for students at Bates, Bowdoin, Colby and the University of Maine campuses. Georgetown and Wake Forest open their programs to their own undergraduates. Tulane's Creative Scholars Program is for Tulane undergraduates, and its Xavier University of Louisiana track is for Xavier premedical students. Kentucky limits its program to students enrolled at four-year institutions inside the state.


The practical lesson is to check your college against the partner lists before researching anything else. In several of these programs the pre-health office is the gatekeeper. Wake Forest requires the Pre-Health Committee's approval, Georgetown tells students to contact their dean's office, and Tufts sends instructions through prehealth advisors. If your college has no arrangement with any of these schools, FlexMed is the open door in this sample, which makes its GPA bar and its single yearly window worth planning around.


When You Apply: A Calendar Starting in the Fall of Sophomore Year


FlexMed has the clearest public calendar. Its application opened October 1 and closes Thursday, January 14, 2027 at 11:59 p.m. EST. Interviews run in March and April, decisions come in July, and acceptances are confirmed in August. Kentucky's program opens in early November and closes in February, though its page names no cycle year. Georgetown's page tells students in their fourth semester to contact the dean's office in early January of sophomore year.


The later windows are less well documented. Tufts holds interviews typically in April. Penn's PASS closed February 1 for the 2026 program, which ran June 1 to July 24, and the 2027 dates were not available to me. Wake Forest and Tulane do not state deadlines on the pages I read.


Put the confirmed dates in a calendar now. For every program with a blank, email the advising office this month. Some programs, such as Tufts, send instructions through prehealth advisors during the application year, so the advising office is the first place to ask.


What You Have to Maintain to Keep the Seat


The word assurance carries more weight than the guarantee behind it. FlexMed asks for a 3.6 cumulative GPA to apply and then a 3.75 annual cumulative GPA and 3.75 science GPA once admitted, with at least a B in required courses. It reviews progress each term, and a shortfall can lead to remedial coursework or possible rescinding of the offer. Tufts requires a 3.7 total and science GPA, B+ or higher in biology, chemistry and physics courses with labs, B or higher elsewhere, and the completion of remaining prerequisites by the end of junior year. Georgetown asks for a 3.6 in both BCPM and overall coursework, with above a C in every course.


Several of those floors sit above 3.6, which means one rough semester of organic chemistry can matter far more than it would for a student on the regular route. The programs also ask for more than grades. Tufts requires a background check, completion of coursework at your home institution unless the admissions office approves an exception, and an AMCAS special program application in the summer or fall of senior year. Kentucky wants a commitment to every program activity.


Read the verbs. Penn describes PASS completion as making a student eligible to seek linkage admission, and its performance metrics are not publicly specified. Tufts says applicants who miss the academic standards are not assured admission but may be admitted at the committee's discretion. None of these is an unconditional seat, and the differences in wording are the differences in risk.


Binding Terms and the MCAT


The MCAT rules vary more than most students expect. FlexMed does not permit accepted students to take the MCAT. Georgetown does not require it for the program, but requires it if the student applies to another medical school. Tufts does not require it to apply, yet sets a minimum of 510 overall, with at least the 50th percentile in BBFL, CPBS and PSBB, for conditional acceptances during or after the 2027-2028 academic year, on one sitting and with two attempts allowed. The page also contains older text saying no MCAT is required, so confirm your cohort's terms with Tufts. Xavier students in Tulane's program must take the MCAT, and Kentucky's page does not mention it.


Binding terms are just as uneven. FlexMed does not call itself binding, but accepted students who want to apply elsewhere through AMCAS must withdraw from the program, and they can later reapply to Mount Sinai through the traditional route. Tufts keeps the options open through junior year and binds in fall of senior year, when the special program application goes in. Georgetown, Wake Forest, Penn, Kentucky and Tulane do not specify on the pages I read. A missing term means you should ask in writing before you apply, and decide in advance whether you would accept that commitment.


A Short Checklist Before You Apply


Confirm that your college is eligible and find out who nominates or approves applications.


Write down the window and ask about any date the program page does not state.


List the GPA floors for both overall and science coursework, plus any minimum grade in required courses.


Ask whether you can apply to other schools, what withdrawal costs you, and whether the MCAT is required, waived, or forbidden.


Ask what the program does when a student falls short: remedial work, review, or rescinding.


Method, Scope, and Sources


The pages below were read in October 2026, and the information is current as of October 15, 2026. The programs were chosen because their official pages were readable and described an early assurance or linkage path for current college students. Programs whose pages could not be confirmed, along with high school BS/MD programs, are outside this scope. Rochester runs an early assurance program with partner colleges and its official page lists them, but I could not confirm current eligibility, dates or terms from a current official or partner page. An older advising document circulates with unverified dates, so Rochester is left out of the table, and students at partner colleges should ask their pre-health advisor for the current terms. Early assurance terms change from cycle to cycle, so confirm each detail with the school and your pre-health office before you act.






University of Rochester, MD admissions (partner college list only): https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/education/md/admissions/apply


Perelman School of Medicine, PASS: https://www.med.upenn.edu/student/pass-program.html


Perelman School of Medicine, special programs: https://www.med.upenn.edu/admissions/special-programs.html




University of Kentucky College of Medicine, early assurance: https://medicine.uky.edu/sites/meded/applying-early-assurance-program


University of Kentucky College of Medicine, dates and deadlines: https://medicine.uky.edu/sites/meded/dates-and-deadlines


Tulane School of Medicine, early decision and assurance: https://medicine.tulane.edu/admissions/md/early-decision-assurance


If you want help working out which early assurance programs fit your college, your grades, and your timeline, click below and we can go through it together.




You can also reach us directly at success@admitmd.com, or call or text 512-693-9228.

Comments


bottom of page